Anglo-Maratha wars

The Consolidation of the British power

No Succession rights for the adopted children

Subsidiary alliance

Anglo-Sikh wars
Through Carnatic wars, the English had made other Europeans countries not to challenge them in India.

They gained complete political control over Bengal through Plassey and Buxar battles. By 1765, they had gained control most of the eastern parts of India. Since, the Marathas and Mysore states were dominant in southern and western part of India; the hold of British was restricted to Bengal and Bombay regions only.
Hyder Ali and Tippu Sultan of Mysore along with Peshwas of Marathas were the only impediments in the path of expansion for the British. The others were Sikhs in the North western region. Ranjith Singh who emerged in the later part of nineteenth century was a formidable opponent to the British. He was successful in organizing the Sikhs.
The British also waged repeated wars from the mid of eighteenth century to mid of nineteenth century to extend their empire in India. Apart from this, they also annexed various kingdoms with cunning policies like ‘Subsidiary Alliance’ and ‘Doctrine of Lapse’.

During this period, the British waged three Anglo-Maratha wars, four Anglo-Mysore wars and two Anglo-Sikh wars. Since the Anglo-Mysore wars discussed in unit 4, here we shall understand the wars of the British with Marathas and Sikhs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *